The then Hon'ble President of HKE Society Sri Baswarajappa Appa with his forethought and great vision, felt the need of a Dental College in this area. In those days there was no Dental College in north Karnataka area. Considering the need of dental health care facilities for the people of Hyderabad Karnataka region, he initiated the Dental College establishment in 1986.

With the very humble beginning in 1986, under Gulbarga University the college started with the 1st batch of 40 students in the dental wing of Govt. Hospital. The basic medical sciences were handled by the able faculty of Mahadevappa Rampure Medical College. The then President of India Late Shri Gyani Zail Singh, on 9th Jan.1987 laid the foundation stone for the three storeyed building on seven acres of H.K.E. Society land on the Sedam Road.

It took about five years for the conceptualization and completion of the proposed college building and the project saw the light of day on 15th August 1992 when the institution was shifted to this existing building. At that time the society was led by Dr. B.G. Jawali as President and Dr. G. Nagraj Rao was the head of this institution.

Sri Baswaraj Bhimalli in the year 1996, took a great decision to name the college in honour of senior leader and former Chief Minister Late Shri S. Nijalingappa, who served thrice as a Chief Minister - maker of modern Karnataka. He was the member of parliament from 1952 to 1956 and his important role in both Indian independence Movement and Karnataka Ekkikaran's movement was undeniable. On 21st August 1996 the college was named as S. Nijalingappa Institute of Dental Sciences & Research by the then Honorable Prime Minister of India Shri H.D. Devegowda and the former Chief Minister of Karnataka Shri J.H. Patel.

In 1996 the Health University of Karnataka was established in Bangalore then the affiliation of this college was transferred to Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Science Bangalore from Gulbarga University. The P.G courses commenced in academic year 1998.

News and Events

Important Information
  • Notification for CET conducted to fill up the unfilled COMEDK/CET on behalf of Hyderabad Karnataka (non minority) Dental Colleges Trust
  • Application Form for CET conducted to fill up the unfilled COMEDK/CET on behalf of Hyderabad Karnataka (non minority) Dental Colleges Trust
  • Notification for BDS Admission 2015 (New)
  • Anti-Ragging
  • Fee Structure for 2015-16
  • Notification for BDS Admission 2015
  • Notification for MDS Admission 2015
  • Institution Brochure
  • Approval and Recognition
  • Affiliation Details
  • Essential Certificates
  • Hospital Attached Details
  • Holidays List
  • University Exam Information

  • Affiliation Details
  • Oral Surgery Recognition Letter
  • Oral Pathology Recognition Letter
  • Essentialty Certificate to Start Dental College in the year 1986
  • Essentialty Certificate to Increase BDS seats from 40 to 100 in the year 2014
  • Govt.of India Permission Letter to Increase BDS seats from 40 to 100 -2014
  • RGUHS University Affiliation Letter - 2014-2015
  • Recognition of Institute for Ph.D in the specialty of Periodontics & Prosthodontics in year 2012-13 by RGUHS

  • Other Links
  • Rajiv Gandhi Univeristy of Health Sciences, Karnataka
  • More about Gulbarga

  • Copyright © S. Nijalingappa Institute of Dental Sciences & Research, Gulbarga. All rights reserved.
    Best view in IE 6 and above at 1024x768 True Color Display Resolution.